关于

FES 计划旨在教授和评估生理学, 解剖学, 实践灵活的胃肠道内窥镜手术所需的基本知识和技术技能 (胃肠道) 道. FES 计划由一个交互式, 基于网络的, 多媒体增强, 教学课程组成部分和两部分, 经验证的评估由:

  • 基于网络的多项选择题考试,用于评估认知知识和判断力.
  • 用于评估基本技术和心理运动技能的虚拟现实平台.

FES 建立了一套标准的教学信息和手工技能,作为指导外科住院医师的基础课程, 研究员, 和执业外科医生在基本内窥镜手术中的表现. 通过掌握课程并在这种无生命的模式中磨练技能, 预计外科住院医师和外科医生将更有效地开始和执行内窥镜检查, 具有更高的技能和更高的安全性, 并且并发症发生率较低. FES 的具体目标是掌握 FES 课程的人所获得的知识和技能将提高为患者提供的外科护理的质量和安全性.

SAGES FES 课程的开发是为了建立一个经过验证的, 外科和胃肠病学学员的核心内窥镜课程. 课程包括 13 基于网络的, 交互的, 涵盖基本诊断和治疗性内窥镜检查的认知内容章节, 使用富文本, 图片, 和插图. 外科医生和胃肠病学家对内容和准确性的广泛同行评审已包含在章节开发中.

认知测试包括 80 评估对内窥镜检查基础知识的理解和应用的问题,尽可能强调临床判断或术中决策. 详细的心理测量分析已成为认知考试准备和标准制定过程的一部分.

手工技能测试 由五个模拟练习组成,这些模拟练习包含并代表了基本内窥镜手术所需的大部分精神运动技能. 技能评估模块是在经过严格的认知任务分析和解构努力后开发的,并利用了外科科学虚拟现实平台. 此元素中包含的技能包括双手导航, 循环减少, 定位, 黏膜评估, 和后屈.

单击此处获取重要信息公告,其中包含有关 FES 测试的 FES 和政策的完整描述

目标

本次活动结束时, 参与者将能够:

  • 了解基本内窥镜手术的适应症和禁忌症 (权限)
  • 识别常见的病理学发现并应用适当的诊断和治疗干预措施 (表现)
  • 识别和管理与基本内窥镜手术相关的常见并发症 (权限)
  • 描述适当的患者准备 (权限)
  • 确定并讨论可用的诊断和治疗替代方案 (权限)
  • 展示改进的运动技能和灵巧性,这是上、下内窥镜检查的基本基础:
  • 演示内窥镜导航流程, 尖端偏转, 和扭矩 (表现)
  • 演示结肠镜袢复位技术 (表现)
  • 演示后屈的技术 (表现)
  • 展示充分评估粘膜的能力和内窥镜靶向病变的技能 (表现)

FES 的好处

  • 帮助解决住院医师计划中的病例组合不平等问题
  • 允许在安全的环境中学习灵活的胃肠内窥镜技术,而不会使患者处于危险之中
  • 为长时间缺勤后重返实践的内窥镜外科医生更新技术

考试资格

FES 候选人是:

  • 初级和高级外科住院医师和研究员就读于经认可的外科教育计划
  • 董事会合格/认证的执业外科医生
  • 获得认可的内科医学或其他教授内窥镜手术的项目的居民和研究员
  • 董事会合格/认证的执业胃肠病学家和其他执行内窥镜手术的医生
+

About

The FES Program was designed to teach and assess the physiology, anatomy, fundamental knowledge and technical skills required to practice flexible endoscopic procedures of the gastrointestinal (GI) tract. The FES Program is comprised of an interactive, web-based, multimedia-enhanced, didactic curriculum component and a two-part, validated assessment made up of:

  • A web-based multiple-choice exam for evaluating cognitive knowledge and judgment.
  • A virtual reality platform to evaluate fundamental technical and psychomotor skills.

FES establishes a standard set of didactic information and manual skills serving as a basic curriculum to guide surgical residents, fellows, and practicing surgeons in the performance of basic endoscopic surgery.  By mastering the curriculum and the honing of skills in this inanimate modality, it is expected that surgical residents and surgeons will initiate and carry out their performance of endoscopy more effectively, with greater skill and greater safety, and with lower complication rates. The specific aim of FES is that the knowledge and skills gained by those who master the FES curriculum will improve the quality and safety of surgical care delivered to their patients.

The SAGES FES curriculum has been developed to establish a validated, core endoscopic curriculum for surgical and gastroenterological trainees. The curriculum includes 13 web-based, interactive, cognitive content chapters covering basic diagnostic and therapeutic endoscopy, using rich text, images, and illustrations. Extensive peer review for content and accuracy by surgeons and gastroenterologists has been included in chapter development.  

The cognitive test includes 80 questions assessing the understanding and application of the fundamentals of endoscopy with as much emphasis as possible on clinical judgment or intra-operative decision-making. Detailed psychometric analysis has been part of the preparation and standard setting process for the cognitive exam.  

The manual skills test consists of five simulation exercises that incorporate and represent most of the psychomotor skills necessary for basic endoscopic surgery. The skills assessment modules have been developed after a process of rigorous cognitive task analysis and deconstructive effort and utilizes a Simbionix virtual reality platform. The skills incorporated in this element include bimanual navigation, loop reduction, targeting, mucosal evaluation, and retroflexion.  

Click here for an important information bulletin with a complete description of FES and policies concerning the FES test

Objectives

At the conclusion of this activity, participants will be able to: 

  • Understand indications and contraindications for basic endoscopic procedures (competence)
  • Recognize common pathological findings and apply appropriate diagnostic and therapeutic interventions (performance)
  • Recognize and manage common complications related to basic endoscopic procedures (competence)
  • Describe appropriate patient preparation (competence)
  • Identify and discuss available diagnostic and therapeutic alternatives (competence)
  • Demonstrate improved motor skills and dexterity that form the fundamental basis for the performance of upper and lower endoscopy:
  • Demonstrate the process of endoscope navigation, tip deflection, and torque (performance)
  • Demonstrate the technique of colonoscope loop reduction (performance)
  • Demonstrate the technique for retroflexion (performance)
  • Demonstrate the ability to adequately evaluate the mucosa and the skill to target lesions endoscopically (performance)

FES Benefits

  • Helps to address case-mix inequalities in a residency program
  • Permits learning of flexible gastrointestinal endoscopy techniques in a safe environment without putting patients at risk
  • Refreshes techniques for endoscopic surgeons returning to practice after an extended absence

Exam Eligibility

FES candidates are:

  • Junior and senior surgical residents and fellows enrolled in an accredited program of surgical education
  • Board eligible/certified practicing surgeons
  • Residents and fellows in an accredited internal medicine or other program that teaches endoscopic procedures
  • Board eligible/certified practicing gastroenterologists and other physicians who perform endoscopic procedures
+