Informations sur les tests

L'évaluation FES est une évaluation en deux parties, examen surveillé qui couvre les connaissances cognitives et les compétences manuelles. Les deux parties de l'examen doivent être prises en un seul rendez-vous d'examen.

La composante cognitive est chronométrée, examen à choix multiples administré par ordinateur. Il est conçu pour tester la compréhension et l'application des principes de base de l'endoscopie en mettant l'accent sur le jugement clinique et la prise de décision peropératoire.

La composante des compétences manuelles évalue les compétences en fonction de l'efficacité (la vitesse) et précision (précision) des manœuvres du chirurgien avec le GI Mentor II, GI Bronch Mentor ou GI Mentor Express, toutes les pièces de matériel exclusives développées par Surgical Science. Le test consiste en cinq exercices de simulation incorporant la plupart des compétences psychomotrices nécessaires à la chirurgie endoscopique gastro-intestinale de base.

Veuillez vous référer aux guides suivants pour savoir comment acheter et vous inscrire à l'examen FES. Notez que bien qu'il semble que vous ne vous inscriviez qu'à la partie cognitive, vous vous inscrivez également au segment des compétences manuelles de l'examen.

+

Testing Information

The assessment component is a two-part, proctored exam that covers cognitive knowledge and manual skills.  Both parts of the exam must be taken in one single test appointment.

The cognitive component is a timed multiple-choice exam administered via computer. It is designed to test the understanding and application of the basic fundamentals of endoscopy with emphasis on clinical judgment or intraoperative decision-making.

The manual skills component evaluates skills based on efficiency (speed) and precision (accuracy) of the surgeon’s maneuvers using the GI Mentor II or Bronch Mentor, a proprietary piece of hardware developed by Simbionix. The test consists of five simulation exercises incorporating most of the psychomotor skills necessary for basic GI endoscopic surgery.

Please refer to the following guide for instructions on how to register for the FES exam.  Please note that while it appears you are only registering for the cognitive portion, you are signing up for the manual skills segment of the exam as well.

Guide: How to Purchase FES Products

Guide: Online Test Taker Registration

Guide: Cancel or Reschedule a Test Appointment

Score Report and Explanation